Few days ago, someone send me the link to short post attributed to Meryl Streep: https://ioadicaeu.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/i-no-longer-have-patience/

In the end it appears that the actual author was a guy named José Micard Teixeira.

  • Who is he? I have no clue.
  • What caused the mistake? I don't care.

But the text struck me. OK, this is gonna be weird, but let me continue - particular parts of this text struck me - it's structure, they way it's composed, the actual form author used to express his/her concerns (or rather frustrations).

But first of all - the words that appear at least few times: "I no longer have patience". Because they sound like something that's boiling inside me for a long time, I have it on the tip of my tongue & maybe it's high time to spit it finally out.

Here's my version

Or rather, original text with my inclusions and substitutions.

I no longer have patience for certain things, not because I’ve become arrogant, but simply because I reached a point in my life where I do not want to waste more time with what displeases me or

what seems like running around in circles without sense of purpose and chance for progress.

I have no patience for

ignorance, politicking, the sheer human stupidity, especially mixed with varying doses of laziness and flattery.

I lost the will to please those who

fail to earn my respect, seem to be completely out of place when something has to be done & what may be most important, don't bother themselves to actually listen to what anyone but them has said.

I do not tolerate selective erudition,

fake authorities, opinionated buffoonery & lame, ignorant douchebags.

I believe in a world of

people who actually want to cooperate & create something together. Who believe that their greatest achievement is still ahead of them. Who value meritocracy, honest communication & have balls to be transparent in whatever that's taking place. Who dare to do something more than bitching about how screwed the f*cking reality is. And who understand that to build something, you need to create & maintain a solid, healthy foundation that won't collapse once you start.

And on top of everything I have no patience for anyone who does not deserve my patience.

Share this post